Don’t Miss Ionian #5 Mode Shapes Best Harmonization

Table of Contents

In this post we’re going to learn how to play the Ionian #5 scale, with the help of fretboard diagrams, Chords and guitar tabs.

The intervals in the Ionian #5 Scale scale are Root, Major Second, Major Third, Perfect Fourth, Augmented Fifth, Major Sixth, and Major Seventh

This scale is composed of the notes

C, D, E, F, G#, A, and B

What’s the Ionian (#5) mode?

How Is Built The Ionian (#5) Mode?

The Ionian (#5) mode is Ionian augmented or major augmented is the third mode of the harmonic minor scale, this is a major scale. It has seven notes just like the Ionian mode (major scale) but with an augmented fifth instead of a perfect fifth. The formula is 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – #5 – 6 – 7.

The Ionian #5 mode is basically played over maj7#5 chords. Although these chords are uncommon, they can be used as a substitute for Ionian chord types when you want to add a little bit of tension. Notice that the Ionian #5 mode provides a typical interval, the 1-1/2 step distance found in all the modes of the harmonic minor family.

Ionian #5

Differentiate between the Ionian mode and Ionian (#5) mode.

The Ionian #5 mode can be confused with the Ionian b6 scale, also known as harmonic major scale. There is a slight difference as shown in the diagrams below. The Ionian b6 has a perfect fifth (5) and a minor sixth (b6). This scale is rarely used in jazz.

Ionian #5
 Ionian #5  One Octave and Two Octave Shapes
The seven positions below show how to play the Ionian (#5) scale in order to cover the whole guitar neck using three notes per string. Each shape starts from a different step of the scale.
C Ionian #5 Mode
C Ionian #5 Mode
C Ionian (#5) Mode
C Ionian #5 Mode

C Ionian #5 Mode All Chords

C  Ionian #5 Mode All Chords
C Ionian (#5) Mode All Chords


FACT ABOUT The Best Harmonic Minor Scale | Guitar Diagrams and Charts Click >>>

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top